Wimbledon Chess Club

St Andrews Church, Herbert Road, Wimbledon SW19 3TJ
Meet on Mondays. We will be in the church until 2020 and then will be in the hall after that. If we are not in one then try the other


The top reason given in a poll for why members pick Wimbledon is that ours is a friendly club offering loads of match games. Since beating Streatham in 1892, Wimbledon's focus has increasingly been on inter-club competition and we now play well over 100 matches every year. With 15 teams (8 of them competing in Surrey) players of all strengths get the chance to represent the club

Whilst winning is important to our members (we've won both the Alexander Cup and the Challenge Cup for the individual county championship a record number of times), so too is good relations with other clubs (including sharing management improvement ideas) and supporting the Association. There is also a high level of member participation in running the club to share the administrative burden

Subscriptions vary depending on how many leagues you play in (London and Thames Valley are the other two). Juniors have free membership


President Russell Picot russellpicot@yahoo.co.uk




Secretary Gordon Rennie gordon.rennie@sap.com




Treasurer Russell Granat r.granat@btinternet.com 01932 880124




Fixtures Secretary Gordon Rennie gordon.rennie@sap.com




Registration Secretary Gordon Rennie gordon.rennie@sap.com




Surrey Trophy (1st team) Gordon Rennie gordon.rennie@sap.com




Beaumont Cup (2nd team) Adrian Rutkowski adrianrutkowski@gmail.com 07772 846659




Ellam Trophy (3rd team) Pawel Slonczuk pawel.slonczuk@gmail.com




Centenary Trophy (4th team) Martin Lake marl84k@yahoo.co.uk




Fred Manning Trophy Alex Brett alex.brett@blueyonder.co.uk




Alexander Cup Gordon Rennie gordon.rennie@sap.com




Website
www.wimchess.co.uk

Click here for a map and interactive Street View
Click here for travel and parking information

Click here to download this page as a PDF file, which can be opened or saved for printing on your computer
Click here to download Wimbledon's squad list as a PDF file, which can be opened or saved for printing on your computer